best of 2012

As promised, here’s my best of 2012 mix. I made a point of focusing on new releases in 2012 and these were some of my most played tracks of the year. I also made a point of buying at least 24 new releases, which is a plan I’m carrying into 2013. Keeping up with new releases was at times overwhelming, but ultimately very rewarding. It was nice stepping out of my comfort zone from time to time and giving a listen to some things I normally wouldn’t have been exposed to. As a result I feel better informed about what kind of stuff was buzzing around in 2012, yet I’m still somehow finding out about things I missed along the way.

Here are 12 songs I couldn’t stop listening to in 2012.

  1. First Aid Kit – Emmylou
    I saw First Aid Kit back in April and they were mesmerizing. The Lion’s Roar is certainly in my top three albums of 2012.
  2. Hospitality – Friends of Friends
    Hospitality opened for Eleanor Friedberger back in May. There were about 10 people at the show, which was surprising given the awesomeness of both artists. However, considering the venue was my least favorite since it gets overcrowded very easily, it made for a pretty enjoyable show on my part.
  3. Islands – Oh Maria
    Yet another show I saw this year, Islands blew me away. I didn’t even know I liked them that much until I saw them live. A Sleep & A Forgetting was another album I had on repeat all year.
  4. The Gaslight Anthem – 45
    I certainly couldn’t let an album from these guys go by without putting a track on my best of list. This might not be my favorite on the album, but it was my most played.
  5. Lee Ranaldo – Xtina As I Knew Her
    Between The Times & The Tides was probably my #1 album of the year and I could tell pretty much at first listen. Lee Ranaldo was always my favorite member of Sonic Youth, and not just because we share a birthday.
  6. Dirty Projectors – Swing Lo Magellan
    This was actually the only song I liked from this album, but I liked it so much that I put it in my mix. I wish the rest of the album was more like this.
  7. Sharon Van Etten – Give Out
    Another amazing album. It was hard to pick a favorite track off of this one as the whole thing is just stellar.
  8. The Ting Tings – Guggenheim
    Catchy as hell.
  9. White Rabbits – Heavy Metal
    This band sounds more like Spoon to me than The Divine Fits do, so I’d rather listen to this than anything off of that album.
  10. Beach House – Wishes
    Beach House probably can’t make anything that’s completely unlistenable, so this song squeaks in at spot #10.
  11. Crocodiles – Sunday (Psychic Conversation #9)
    Love this song & album and not just because it has the same name as my cat.
  12. Japandroids – Younger Us
    A band that (for me) is much better in the studio than live. A song that makes me want to jump up & down regardless.
Leave a Reply

