weekly mix #14

I saw a whole lot of shows this week and they all involved a whole lot of awesome. From headbanging, harmonizing Swedes covering Patti Smith, girls dressed like Moonlight era Cybill Shepherd covering Ray Charles, some intense kazoo solos and two back to back songs that almost knocked me to the floor, to something so akin to an evangelical worship service minus the Jesus that I can only say that I come to this mix feeling really and truly redeemed, musically. I guess it’s that time of year.

  1. Cory Branan – The Prettiest Waitress In Memphis (with Ben Nichols)
    I saw Cory when The Revival tour played Foufounes this past Monday. Music lover though I may be, it’s rare that someone wins me over at a live show when starting from nothing. I had never even heard of Cory Branan before this Monday, however I really loved his set. I looked for this song all over but it doesn’t seem to be available for download in Canada, and that happens to be where I am this week. You’ll have to accept this bootleg. I like it, because it totally captures the style of his live act, which was where this all began.
    Also, you can never pass up a song about a waitress. It starts another mix all its own.
  2. Marah – Body
    How bummed am I that I won’t be going to this show next month? Quite bummed indeed.
    handful of chestnuts, mouthful of April rain…
  3. The Hold Steady – Yeah, Sapphire
    if I cross myself when I come would you maybe receive me?
  4. Lucero – Darken My Door
    come save me from myself
  5. Bruce Springsteen – Countin’ On A Miracle
    I don’t believe in magic, but for you I will
  6. Marshall Crenshaw – Cynical Girl
    there’s got to be somebody other than me who’s ready to write it off immediately
  7. Michael Penn – Try
    As long as we’re digging into the past for some Marshall Crenshaw I figured I’d dredge this up. I’ve always thought it was awesome.
  8. Chuck Ragan – Meet Me In The Middle
    fuck yes.
  9. First Aid Kit – Emmylou
    I’m not asking much of you, just sing…
  10. Dave Hause – Another Town
