weekly mix #2

File under : haunted beaches, searching, secrets, shout outs, wishes

  1. AA Bondy – Drmz
  2. Tom Waits – (Looking for) The Heart of Saturday Night
    Flashes of a million different things you see from your car, or from your walk through the city.
  3. Colin Meloy – Every Day Is Like Sunday
    this is a seaside town that they forgot to close down
    I finally lived out my dream of doing The Smiths at karaoke (not this song) and I don’t think I’ll ever be able to go back to Smithsless karaoke again.
  4. Alex Chilton – Baby Doll
  5. The Black Keys – Gold On the Ceiling
    I’ve been back in NJ (and NY) since the beginning of the year. You can say what you want about this part of the country but the fact remains that we’ve always had good radio and awesome bands playing nearly every night of the week. I can’t count how many times I heard this and Craig Finn’s new track Honolulu Blues on the radio in the past 15 or so days.
  6. The Gaslight Anthem – I Could’a Been A Contender
    …speaking of NJ, a shout out to some local boys who are in the studio as I type this, cooking up something awesome to be released soon I’m sure. I often wonder where the hell Brian Fallon was when I was a teenager convinced that no one my age listened to the kind of stuff I did.
  7. Robert Gordon – Fire
    As long as we’re doing shout outs, a shout out to the guy in the record store in Boston who let me have this album for only a buck because he was so impressed with the rest of the stuff I had found. This one is for him, since he told me with a massive amount of heartfelt conviction that this song “should have been a hit”.
  8. Seeker Lover Keeper – Even Though I’m A Woman
  9. The Smiths – A Rush and a Push and the Land is Ours
    That’s not the same track on repeat, just a disturbing case of deja vu...traveled to a mystical time zone…
  10. Francis Dunnery – Wounding and Healing
    Really glad I went through some old CDs before I left because it led me to this sweet little gem. There’s something about Francis Dunnery that I’ve always liked. This may be my very favorite song of his, and I think it’s a great lead in to week three.
Leave a Reply

