first impressions

Hey, it’s March!

I’ve decided to launch a new series of posts this month that I’ve been thinking about writing for a while now. As a starter, I recommend you read this really interesting blog post that I came across over a month ago (and the second comment, which I especially enjoyed).

Done? Back when I read it it got me thinking a lot about first impressions. They’re a big part of how we perceive things and your first exposure to an artist, be it something you read or the first song of theirs you heard, has had some effect on how you’ve viewed them.

A big part of what I enjoy about listening to music and dissecting artists full catalogues, is developing what can be best described as a personal relationship with the songs and using it to draw my own map or diagram of the artist. Personally, I feel like I drew these maps to some artists on my own, which is to say I made up my mind without a lot of outside influence. With other artists I had more work to do, stripping away a whole lot of hype and bla bla to find whatever was under there and decide whether it was even worth listening to.

I’m planning to explore this idea more during the month of March and beyond by sharing some stories about discovering music in many different ways. I’m calling this series First Impressions because that’s the original inspiration, but I plan to branch the idea out in all sorts of directions. I’ll be talking about forming first impressions as well as trying to erase them, which I’m finding is not entirely possible for everyone. I want to talk about chronology too, because I am also very interested in artist’s paths and how the perception of them changes depending on when they came into your life. How much of a difference does it make in your perception of an artist if you discovered them as their career was emerging, as opposed to finding them in the middle of their popularity or after they had “peaked”? There are so many tangents to explore, and so much of it has to do with image and whether you choose to believe what you read or what you hear. Are you eavesdropping on the collective, or are you having a one on one conversation?

I’m interested to hear what you have to say about things too. Do you remember when you first heard someone who became very important to you? What made you want to hear more?

Leave a Reply

