mix of the year, summer 2010

During the last days of 2010 I’ll be posting all four seasons  of my 2010 mix, as well of some best of lists.
Here are some links if you’d like to catch up:

Winter 2010
Spring 2010

Summer’s mix was the easiest to make, since it’s when this year really came into its own.

Listen here.

  1. Ryan Adams & The Cardinals – Crossed Out Name
    July in NYC. Walking west on 42nd street at sunset, it’s windy and the sweat on my forehead is washing my sunscreen into my eyes. That must be why I’m tearing up.
  2. Jesse Malin & The St. Marks Social – All The Way From Moscow
    I heard this live several times this year, but it was never better than in mid-July, on a boat off the shores of Manhattan Island with Todd Youth on guitar and dozens of people enthusiastically singing along. It was pretty clear that no one was singing about a river in Russia.
  3. The Hold Steady – Stay Positive
    In the basement at Penn Station in August around 11pm with two suitcases, an iPod and a husband, I shared this song that had me bouncing out of my Converse for the past 72 hours or so. We gotta stay positive.
  4. Frank Turner – Photosynthesis
    A sing along on a tiny wooden stage at Osheaga with people who must have been from Ontario or something. So glad I chose to stick around and see what all the fuss was about.
  5. Best Coast – Boyfriend
    I hesitated to listen to Best Coast for a little while because I hated the cover of their album so much, but I couldn’t escape this song’s clutches. If I could only get her out of the picture, then he would know how much I want him.
  6. Elvis Costello – No Action
    On an NJ Transit train in August, this song, almost as old as I am, had its way with me. Elvis starts in your left ear and then moves right inside your head. I’m not a telephone junkie.
  7. The Replacements – I’ll Be You
    Walking down St Laurent, remembering this song exists and how words and guitar washes over you.
  8. Slow Club – It Doesn’t Have To Be Beautiful
    Spending a week in NJ, finding a used copy of this CD after having the song in my head for days. Quiet, loud, teasing.
  9. Surfer Blood – Swim
    Buying this album on a whim and discovering something awesome.
  10. The Gaslight Anthem – Even Cowgirls Get The Blues
    Brian Fallon lunging towards the crowd at Osheaga to the crashing waves of this song. I was with them for every note. Little Eden is waiting.
Leave a Reply

