mix of the year, spring 2010

During the last days of 2010 I’ll be posting all four seasons  of my 2010 mix, as well of some best of lists. Here’s the second one. The first is here.

Spring Spring Spring. It takes us from snow-tired March into the end of June when everyone is out on the streets and the city is buzzing like a bee.

Listen here.

  1. Tilly And The Wall – Lost Girls
    Girl you’ve been rolled up in colorful carpets.
    Your blood is rushing, look around you, you’re froze, you’re frozen quiet.
  2. Big Star – The Ballad of El Goodo
    Big Star was one of those bands that I always knew I should be listening to, but I never quite got around to it. Alex Chilton’s unfortunate death this year changed that, and while I wish I had found Big Star sooner, somehow this song worked itself into this spring just right. There ain’t no one going to turn me round.
  3. The Tallest Man On Earth – King of Spain
    I found this song, I don’t remember how, and fell in love with its jangly guitar and long, long syllables. I spent a lot of the year thinking I’d be going to Spain in the fall. In the end I just settled for this song.
  4. Ryan Adams & The Cardinals – Cobwebs
    If I fall will you catch me?
  5. Phosphorescent – The Mermaid Parade
    Permit me a bit of egotism. I like to hear my own name.
  6. Frightened Rabbit – Things
    Sounds like melting. I didn’t need these things.
  7. The Strokes – Razor Blade
    Oh, the razor blade. It almost ruined my marriage. The incredible guitar, the way the lyrics dance over it. I could not stop listening. The world is in your hands or it’s at your throat. This song led me around Fringe Fest and into that sweet spot when Montreal is just about to burst into summer.
  8. Lucinda Williams – Metal Firecracker
    Time to settle into a good love song with an echoey guitar. When I found this I thought is was the sweetest thing I ever heard. It’s not going to last forever, but that’s okay. All I ask, don’t tell anybody the secrets I told you.
  9. Jesse Malin & The St Mark’s Social – Burn The Bridge
    Love It To Life came out in the spring and I saw Jesse Malin live for the first time in six years. Happy pills and soap.
  10. The Fratellis – Chelsea Dagger
    Montreal came close to willing the Stanley Cup this year, but we were beat out by Philadelphia, who was then beat out by Chicago, and here’s why: Chicago played the hook from this song every time they scored. I think the best man won. Wouldn’t you root for that?
Leave a Reply

