weekly mix #51

Oh mix 51, you came together so serendipitously. Only one more week until 2011! Expect lots of posts in the next few days as I get all my best-of lists together and some end of the year mixes too.

Listen here.

  1. Rock Plaza Central – Anthem For The Already Defeated
    I had this song in my head all day Friday before the Rural Alberta Advantage show. I know they’re not the same band, but for some reason I was making the connection. Perhaps it’s because both bands had the same opener when I saw them live.
  2. The Rural Alberta Advantage – Rush Apart
    They played a good show on Friday. Never have I been in a room with so many dancing Albertans, except maybe when I visited Alberta.
  3. Surfer Blood – I’m Not Ready
    I can’t wait to see what they do in 2011.
  4. Tamaryn – Choirs Of Winter
    You’ve arrived at the sparse, wintry part of the mix. It’s snowing somewhere.
  5. The National – Terrible Love
    Yes, still listening to High Violet over here.
  6. Beach House – I Do Not Care For The Winter Sun
    This track was all over the internets this week. Turns out it fits in perfectly with the vibe on this week’s mix.
  7. She & Him – You Really Got A Hold On Me
    Zooey Deschanel really annoys me for some reason, and because of this, I can’t really listen to She & Him anymore, even though I really like M Ward. I overlooked that this week though since it pairs itself so well with the Beach House song. This is one of my favorite songs in the history of songs, so it’s got that going for it.
  8. Dirty Projectors – Two Doves
  9. The Tallest Man On Earth – The Blizzard’s Never Seen The Desert Sands
  10. Bob Dylan – Mississippi
    This song always makes me think of this time of year, and this time of year always makes me think of this song. There’s only one thing I did wrong, stayed in Mississippi a day too long.
Leave a Reply

