the tallest man on earth

I don’t really plan on talking about every show I attend, but I knew when last night’s show began that I had to tell you about it.

The Tallest Man On Earth is apparently way more popular than I ever could have guessed. I don’t recall where I first found his music, but I fell for it right away, so choosing to go to see him wasn’t really a stretch for me. His show in Montreal last night sold out, and the crowd seemed intensely into him. I have no idea how his music ended up being so well known while plenty of other fantastic artists pass through this city relatively unnoticed. I’m not begrudging him this popularity, I’m just confused by it. Maybe it was because he had an opening slot in the Bon Iver tour last year? I’m not a Bon Iver fan, so I guess I wouldn’t know.

Last night’s show was incredibly enjoyable though. I won’t argue with the fact that he deserves full and rapt audiences such as last night’s. I liked his music to begin with, but watching him perform just made me like it more. If you’re into jangly guitar picking and heartfelt lyrics delivered with absolute certainty by someone who seems to feel each echoing note with every last cell of his body, and who creeps and paces the stage throughout the whole process then The Tallest Man On Earth is for you. And even if you’re not into that, see him anyway. You probably will be soon.

(Thanks to last’s night’s taper, whoever you may be.)

Leave a Reply

